What I’ve Learned: The influence of Tech and Media

This semester has been a very enjoyable one for me. We have covered and analyzed a lot of topics that I find important especially in the world that we live in today. From funny John Oliver videos about the importance of newspapers to books such as “Program or Be Programmed” we have covered many important issues in the world of journalism. However many of these issues can apply to everyone, not just to people in the world of journalism because, in my opinion, everyone is in the world of journalism. Anyone who uses a smartphone or social media is technically in this world of journalism. That being said, I would like to go over a few of my favorite/most important things that I have taken away from this class.

The first thing I would like to discuss is program or be programmed. I really liked this because it emphasized how important it is to understand the technology we use and the media that we watch so that we can make educated decisions. So many of the people in the world today use all sorts of high tech devices such as iPads or iPhones to browse and they don’t realize the impact that it has on their lives. There are a lot of people who use devices and online social media to replace face to face human interactions. Little do they know that there is absolutely nothing that can replace face to face human interaction. Talking and being with people in person is priceless and is one of the best parts of life. It is also one of the most taken for granted parts of life. Now I won’t be a hypocrite because I too fall victim to society. I too have my phone out for a significant portion of my day. However this class really opened my eyes and I am really working on changing that. I think it would be beneficial for everyone just to use their phone as a phone and not use it to avoid people or try to replace actually being with people. For example, I loved the video we watch a couple months back when it showed a man using an actual map and asked a girl for directions rather than using his phone. He ended up marrying this woman. You never know the opportunities you might miss if you are glued to your phone.

Another thing I’d like to briefly talk about is how important journalism is in the world today. Journalism influences some of the most important aspects of our lives. One thing I took out of this class in particular is to be careful about what influences you. So many things in media today are bias, misinformed, or just simply not true. I think it is very important especially in our country today as it seems as though sometimes we are all split in half and a large part of that is due to media. We all need to be active and be careful about what believe and work together despite our differences to make our country and world a better place to live in for everyone. I believe this starts with journalism and the media. Overall I really enjoyed this class. There are many things I have learned in this class that I can take to heart and apply to my own life; and that is really valuable to me.

eg49vttkdvi-hector-martinez

Free photo by Hector Martinez from unsplash.com

Leave a Reply

